RSS Feed

Thich Nhat Hanh, Peace IS Every Step

The first time I read this

I was in a college course on Eastern Religions

and quite frankly I thought it was a little hokey….

Chapter titles like

“The Dandelion Has My Smile”

and

“Cooking our Potatoes”

well I thought it was a little hokey…interesting…but hokey

fast forward some 20 years later and I have to tell you it is one of the most insightful books I have ever read for the first/second/third……time

How about some of these quotes to wet your whistle:

-“Every morning, when we wake up, we have twenty-four brand new hours to live what a precious gift”(page 5)

-…If we only think of ourselves, if we know only our own needs and ignore the needs of the other person, we cannot love.”(page 80)

He even has something to say about the Eucharist

-“The Practice of the Eucharist is a practice of awareness….He knew if his disciples would eat one piece of bread in mindfulness, they would have real life”(page 22)

You don’t have to be Buddhist to see the wisdom in this book.

Reading this book will not:

-turn you into a Buddhist

but may turn you on to

-peace in your life

-peace in your heart

-peace in your soul

and teach you

-a little about meditating in daily life

-how to love

-how to be…human

although I haven’t seen it you may be interested in:

and if you need a meditation moment….

Peace can be every step.

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

One response »

  1. Pingback: books for a religious education teacher to read? | ellasurreaublog

Leave a Reply

