RSS Feed

Lets go Down to the Potters House

Posted on

Lets Go Down to the Potters House

Allowing God to Mold you and make you in his Image

by Joanne Putnam

 

This book came to me at a low point in my life.  I was (and sometimes still am) trying to figure out my purpose…what my goal should be.

Now… I don’t agree with everything in the book.  But it contains so much wisdom that I think most parents…christian or not would benefit from reading this book!

The book expounds upon the idea that we are all “earthen vessels” created by God, and just as each vessel has a different purpose so do we as individuals….

We need to pay attention to God’s call in our life, and pray carefully about what our purpose is.

A few of my favorite quotes from the book:

“The words that we say can be a gift to those with whom we come in contact each day.  words ARE POWERFUL.  words LITERALLY HAVE THE POWER OF LIFE AND DEATH.  With our words we can curse a person or we can bless a person” (potters house page 41)

The essay she shared on being a MEAN MOM by Bobby Pingaro would resonate with all parents as well.

She tells us to “let our children fai”l…and to “not be their friend”

-(ok this is me now) so many parents spend so much time trying to make their kids happy they don’t see or understand that their children as well as themselves really don’t know what happiness is.

go a head skip chapter 9 its about praying in tongues…I don’t think that is a gift possessed by everyone…but is a gift possessed by some…the author thinks everyone needs to pray in tongues…

I think we all need to pray in the holy spirit…through and with God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

so thats all I’ll say about that chapter…I don’t agree with her…

but…

move on….the rest of the book is good!

Chapter 10 on stress….

“To live a balanced life in Christ, we need to know what causes stress in our life and learn appropriate ways to reduce it.”( potters house page 103)

the chapter continues on to deal with…how to deal with stress….and how to forgive and the importance of forgiveness

Organizational tips abound in chapter 11 and although the chapter is subtitled “for women” the tips are good ideas for men, teens and children as well.(hey I bet it helps redeem the time)

Her focus on being a parent and bringing Christ into every day life is enlightening and uplifting.

but the focus is also on being a good human being. and that

is something we should all be able to relate to.

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

Leave a Reply

