RSS Feed

What Direction Next?{The Smart Teens’ Guide to Living with Intensity}

Posted on

I read a lot!

I mean a lot!

I always have multiple books with bookmarks in

and magazine articles clipped.

But

My Goal of this Blog

is to post about inspirational books,

books that touch the heart and/or lift the mind or some combination of both.

So sifting through my memory and in trying to decide what’s next I’ve neglected posting about books…unable to make a decision…

until now.

I have a teenager…and in a few years I will have 3 teenagers

so I’ve been reading various books on how to deal with  and live with and love teenagers.

This next book stems from that.

The Smart Teens’ Guide to 

Living With Intensity

How to get more out of Life and Learning

By.Lisa Rivero

So the other day at the Library this book  jumped out at me

and

I thought my kid should read this

but

I read it

and you know what?

Every Parent Should Read This As Well

Although the books focus begins a bit on “gifted” students  really…all teenagers are intense in their own way and this book will likely be eye opening for parents and teens alike regardless “classification” or “labels”

She breaks down the different types of intensity displayed by people

Intellectual, Psycho-motor, Sensual, Imaginative, Emotional

If we understand what makes us intense and what makes our kids intense

we can grown in compassion

when we regard our

similarities

and

differences

with our children

Each “Intensity” gets its own chapter

with a breakdown of how it (the intensity)

affects learning

affects Relationships

Now Bring in Chapter 9

“The Care and Feeding of Intense Parents”

If only all children(teens and adult children)

would take a few minutes to read this book

perhaps some of the insecurities

some of criticisms we have of our parents

would turn more toward compassion and understanding.

Fast forward to Chapter 14

Waiting until the Last Minute:Procrastination, Perfectionism, and creativity.

Complete with a checklist and websites for creative inspiration.

Then the book ends with list of Habits of Mind

and different ways of thinking

for example

instead of too intense think wonderfully intense

instead of not fitting in think just where I should be

now run out and get your own copy

and while you’re at it

check out her website

Lisa Rivero

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

3 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Me, A Mom and commented:

    my book review all moms and dads for that matter should read this book

    Reply
  2. Thank you for this review! I am very happy that you enjoyed the book. Best wishes to you and your children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

