RSS Feed

Let it Go…(Really I don’t have to run the show??)

Posted on

Let it Go 

How to stop running the show and start walking in faith

By Karen Ehman

As parents but mothers specifically there seems to be a desire (in many parents)to live for our children

and be so involved they don’t have chances to

make choices

make mistakes

live for themselves(note I’m not saying selfish though they  may be)

In “Let it Go”

Karen takes us

from micromanaging to mothering

from being over-involved to learning to let go

complete with questions/answers at the end of each chapter  “Let it Go” would make a great book club for moms book

Check out Karen’s Website for more great information

now I must confess I am not much of a housewife

but.

I do find myself hovering in other ways

part is due to the kids food allergies and as a  parent the fear that accompanies that.

but

part of it is personality

wanting to be everything to everyone

then

getting burned out(which is good for no one)

Karen’s book walks you through the ages and stages of letting go.

in her book she quotes Psalm 62(among other bible passages I will end with that passage here:

Psalm 62

Song of Trust in God Alone

To the leader: according to Jeduthun. A Psalm of David.

For God alone my soul waits in silence;
    from him comes my salvation.
2 He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall never be shaken.

How long will you assail a person,
    will you batter your victim, all of you,
    as you would a leaning wall, a tottering fence?
Their only plan is to bring down a person of prominence.
    They take pleasure in falsehood;
they bless with their mouths,
    but inwardly they curse.Selah

For God alone my soul waits in silence,
    for my hope is from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall not be shaken.
On God rests my deliverance and my honor;
    my mighty rock, my refuge is in God.

Trust in him at all times, O people;
    pour out your heart before him;
    God is a refuge for us.Selah

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

One response »

  1. Reblogged this on ellasurreaublog and commented:

    this book should be in every churches library!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

