RSS Feed

title too long, why am I commenting?…

Posted on

I recently finished a “National Bestseller”

the curious incident

of the dog

in the night-time

a novel by:

mark haddon

(now as a disclaimer I read way more books than I ever post about on here)

and

unless I more than just like the book…meaning I actually want to put my name in the cover so when I lend it out I get it back…I don’t share it here.

this book is neither of those.

as a novel it worked

it was a fairly “easy” read

it flowed well, it worked as a novel  and that’s important…some books don’t.

{Mark Haddon of course has a website check it out here

but as a mom

of kids who I don’t always understand

this book gets you into the head of an autistic/asperger’s/sensory overloaded/a little OCD  type child

and that  alone

makes this book something all parents should read

told from the child’s perspective

(actually a teenager, I’m guessing)

it begins with a mystery

the death of a neighbors dog

and leads

beyond

into what I suspected at the beginning…but that is something I won’t share here

This book

details Christopher’s struggles and not just in description of the struggle but what is going on in his head

for example

when he encounters a NEW PLACE

or

a color he strongly dislikes

but how and why his intense logic based brain makes it both easier and more difficult to deal with the rest of humanity around him.

This book is for anyone who has ever met someone a little “different”

it will instill in you a compassionate longing  for them and for all people to be more understanding of each other.

OK that sounded a bit elementary I’m sure

but still

read this book

and then pass it on.

By the way, my recommendations would be that this book be reserved for the high school ages or the “mature” middle school-er

I wish he’d write a similar book with a little less swearing for the elementary age as elementary ages are the time when opinions and prejudices are formed…

this book written to a younger audience could introduce children to what goes on in a mind that works differently from their own

I think if kids middle/high school read it should be part of a class or book club with everyone reading and discussing  I wish the author had included discussion questions as part of the book.

thats all….

go buy!

ps

to be fair

mark haddon

on his blog

comments on aspergers and autism, saying he is not an expert and did not set out to create an individual with a specific condition

but rather in his own words:

curious incident is not a book about asperger’s. it’s a novel whose central character describes himself as ‘a mathematician with some behavioural difficulties’. indeed he never uses the words ‘asperger’s’ or ‘autism’ (i slightly regret that fact that the word ‘asperger’s’ was used on the cover). if anything it’s a novel about difference, about being an outsider, about seeing the world in a surprising and revealing way. it’s as much a novel about us as it is about christopher.

but still

what are you doing still reading this go out and borrow or buy the book!

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

Leave a Reply

