RSS Feed

A Patchwork Planet by Anne Tyler….meh….sort of….

OK I read this book because it had “New York Times Bestseller” on the title.

and is from something called the Ballentine Readers Circle.

This was not a favorite book of mine but it did touch on some topics I felt made it worthy of a review.

-divorce and the tragedy it afflicts on all touched by it

-a child of the now dissolved marriage,

-and most importantly: a young mans “coming of age” type story, where he begins to see the importance of his job(serving others) and more importantly he discovers his own self worth. Through misadventures with an angel(trust me not what you expect), and a child’s history that named his as a criminal….he overcomes…..not how you’d expect….not even necessarily how you want

but

that is what makes this book cool in my eyes.

Lately so many of the books I read are so Predictable, exciting at first then boring as the story line plays out just as expected

making the last half of the book almost unnecessary….

A Patchwork Planet...is not predictable….at least not as overtly as so many novels these days.

I recommend this book for high-school and up….it does having some swearing and suggestive spots…

but all in all a thoughtful read.

I recently just finished “Back When We Were Grownups” another by Anne Tyler, and although I did not feel it was worth my time to do a separate entry, it was a decent enough book to mention.  For me it was a bit too predictable.

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

Leave a Reply

