RSS Feed

We Were the Mulvaneys

I had a few days to read books over winter break and one of the three I picked was

“We Were the Mulvaneys”

by Joyce Carol Oates

Being an Oprah Book Club book, I thought it must be really good….and it’s not that it’s not good..it just doesn’t make my list of “read agains”

“Mulvaneys” starts well enough delving into the lives of the six people in the family.

Focusing on a tragedy that happened to one of the family and affected all of the family, in different ways.

I felt it was missing a chapter or two right before the last chapter.  Without ruining the book should you chose to buy or borrow it…

if you do read it, expect to feel uncomfortable, sick to your stomach, angry, at what happens in the book, and then angry at what doesn’t happen in the book.

curious?

yeah it’s ok…but …borrow it from your library.

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

One response »

  1. I agree with you completely, this was a book which held a lot of promise but didn’t deliver for me either. Rose

    Reply

Leave a Reply

