RSS Feed

50 Ways To Pray, by Teresa A. Blythe

a great book for folks looking to deepen their spiritual/prayer life

ellasurreaublog

Usually I reserve my book reviews for my “Book Reviews” page, but his one is so appropriate even more so for those of us who teach others to pray I thought it really belonged here.

50 ways to Pray

Practices from Many Traditions and Times

By: Teresa A. Blythe

What I like about this book is first of all it’s about prayer

Secondly we (humans) as individuals connect to the “sacred” (our God) through prayer, but as we are all individuals perhaps we may feel inner connection more through one type of prayer vs. another (type of prayer)

In her book she has chapters on

  • Biblical Reflections
  • Meditation
  • Centering Prayer
  • Deep Listening
  • Praying with Icons
  • Lectio Divina
  • Traditional Ignatian Examen
  • Prayer Journal
  • Prayer as art
  • Quaker Clearness
  • Breath Prayer
  • Prayer walk
  • Praying with Beads
  • Wall of Prayer
  • Ignatian Imagination Prayer
  • Intercessory Prayer
  • Healing Prayer
  • Prayer Partnering
  • Praying the…

View original post 185 more words

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.

Leave a Reply

